top of page

Alex Paton: His time is now!


Alex on his way to his to victory!

Photo Credit: 'CanyonEisberg|Hugh McManus'

Alex Paton is an outstanding Crit rider, looking strong in all rounds of the Tour Series and taking the corners at the London Nocturne so fast it makes you cover your eyes!

He is also very capable on the longer road races, a power house with the strength to split a race into pieces. His stature makes him easy to spot and you know a race is going to get interesting when his tall frame and broad shoulders battle their way to the front!

After an impressive season in 2016, Alex proved to be a valuable team player with Bike Channel Canyon. 2017 saw him move on to Madison Genesis and, despite his obvious talent on the bike, he never really found his feet.

For 2018 Alex has reunited with Tim Elverson at the newly named Canyon Eisberg, joining forces once again with some familiar faces and a team that he had some great results with previously.

We caught up with Alex just before the start of the season to talk about what he hopes 2018 will bring.

How did you come to the decision to join Canyon Eisberg for 2018?

"This was a fairly straight forward decision, I really enjoy working with Tim Elverson who owns and runs the team.

Tim knows how to help me get the best from myself and believes in my ability. We spoke about 2018 and soon had agreed my place on the team."

Do you have a specific focus/goals for the coming season?

"My aim is always to win bike races. With lot's of focus on major races and/or trying to get the best result for the team, I feel it's easy to forget how to win races. This season I plan to try and get back on the podium a few times"

You have done a couple of Cyclocross races recently, did you have plans to do more?

"I planned to do some but I decided to focus more on the road season"

Looking at races/venues in the South East do you have a favourite and why?

"I always enjoy the Crits at Cyclopark, a good facility and circuit"

Are there any specific upgrades you personally have on your race bike?

"Not as such, all the riders on the team have a similar set up, this is due to sponsors and keeping it easier for mechanics to set bikes up. This year I am going to use a tubeless setup over the usual tubular tyres. I have been testing it a lot and feel there is an advantage to be had in many ways"

What upgrades would you recommend to a new rider?

"Free - Listen to experienced riders and make the most of your limited training time"

"Low Cost - Upgrade your tyres"

"Expensive - Get a reputable coach and the best equipment for the job you want to do"

What are your 3 top tips for someone wanting to start racing?

"Spend time training on club runs and learn how to ride safely in a group. Do not expect too much too soon and practice makes perfect!"

Do you have a coach?

"Not specifically, I plan my own training. Everything I do is overseen by Tim Elverson, he gives me advice when he feels I need it and I can always ask for his help. It's important to have someone looking at what you are doing and help stop you making mistakes"

How do you keep yourself race fit?

"This winter I started using Zwift. I found this is a great help to keep training interesting on the turbo. It is so hard, not sure how honest people are with their weight!"

Do you do any off the bike training?

Not really, very little! Sometimes I use the foam roller and do some stretches or core stability work. I have done far less off the bike stuff this winter than ever before. Currently I am ahead of any other year training wise, but let's see how the racing goes first"

Photo Credit: 'CanyonEisberg|Hugh McManus'

Alex took a brilliant win at the Perfs Pedal Race on the 11th February. The season opener always attracts a quality field with Canyon Eisberg looking strong from the outset. Alex pushed hard to get in a break and out sprinted his fellow escapees to cross the line in victory!

All photographs courtesy of Hugh McManus


bottom of page